Long hailed as the audiophile’s label, Mercury Living Presence represents an important milestone in the history of classical recording. Since they were first released, Mercury Living Presence LP records have been collected and coveted and 70 years after the label’s first release – Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, with Rafael Kubelík conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Mercury continues to be admired for the quality of its artistry and recordings: all celebrated for their sheer vividness of sound. This audiophile series sources the original first-generation master tapes. New HD transfers were made at Abbey Road Studios. Master files, including new 3-to-2 mixes for stereo titles, were produced by Thomas Fine, son of the original producer and recording engineer for the majority of Mercury Living Presence titles. Janis’s virtuoso recording, originally released on CD in 1994, finally gets its vinyl due. Recorded in Fine Recording Ballroom Studio A, September 25-29, 1961 with three Schoeps M201 microphones.



  1. Promenade. Allegro giusto, nel modo rustico, se
  2. Gnomus. Sempre vivo
  3. Promenade. Moderato commodo assai e con delicat
  4. The Old Castle
  5. Promenade. Moderato non tanto, pesamente
  6. The Tuileries Gardens
  7. Bydlo Sempre moderato, pesante
  8. Promenade Tranquillo
  9. Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells
  10. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
  11. The Market-Place at Limoges
  12. The Catacombs (Sepulchrum romanum)
  13. Con mortuis in lingua mortua
  14. The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga)
  15. The Great Gate of Kiev