A longtime audiophile demonstration disc, Hugh Masekela’s heralded 1994 live album Hope will show off your system’s dynamic range as well as any record ever released. Recorded in the Summer of 1993 at Washington, D.C.’s Blues Alley with a fiery seven-piece group, Hope finds the late great music legend revisiting his rich history with a touchstone 7-song set which covers material reaching over five different decades and several countries and composers. The songs are diverse, passionate and transcendent, and as for the sound…incredible!




  1. The Abangoma (The Healers)
  2. Uptownship
  3. Mandela (Bring Him Back Home)
  4. Grazing in the Grass


  1. Lady
  2. Languta


  1. Nomali
  2. Market Place
  3. Ntyilo Ntyilo (The Love Bird)


  1. He le Se (The Dowry Song)
  2. Until When
  3. Stimela (The Coal Train)