Nonesuch Records presents Keep Your Courage, Natalie Merchant’s ninth solo studio album and first of new material since 2014’s self-titled record. An eclectic album, produced by Merchant, it features two duets sung with vocalist Abena Koomson-Davis (Resistance Revival Chorus), contributions from the Celtic folk group Lúnasa and Syrian virtuoso clarinetist Kinan Azmeh, and horn arrangements by jazz trombonist Steve Davis. There are lush orchestrations throughout by seven composers including: Gabriel Kahane, Stephen Barber, Colin Jacobson, and Megan Gould. Keep Your Courage comprises nine original songs by Merchant as well as an interpretation of “Hunting the Wren” by Ian Lynch of the Irish band Lankum. The vinyl LP edition of Keep Your Courage includes four newly remastered bonus tracks from earlier albums, previously unreleased on the format.




  1. Big Girls (feat. Abena Koomson-Davis)
  2. Come on, Aphrodite (feat. Abena Koomson-Davis)
  3. Sister Tilly
  4. Narcissus
  5. Hunting the Wren
  6. Guardian Angel


  1. Eye of the Storm
  2. Tower of Babel
  3. Song of Himself
  4. The Feast of Saint Valentine
  5. Spring & Fall: To a Young Child
  6. Butterfly
  7. Giving Up Everything
  8. Frozen Charlotte