Saxophonist and composer Walter Smith III enters a new era of his band leading career with his remarkable Blue Note debut Return To Casual, the long-anticipated follow-up to his self-released 2014 recording Still Casual. Eight original works (and one new arrangement) all composed within weeks of each other layer, displace, dismantle and reassemble among the Houston native’s fellow artists. Reprising their bandmate roles, pianist Taylor Eigsti, guitarist Matt Stevens, bassist Harish Raghavan, and trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire reveal a seasoned depth of dimension alongside a featured guest appearance by pianist James Francies.



  1. Contra
  2. River Styx
  3. Pup – Pow
  4. Shine
  5. Mother Stands for Comfort
  6. quiet song
  7. lamplight
  8. Amelia Earhart Ghosted Me
  9. K8 + BYU$
  10. Revive